Health Services

Now is not too early to begin scheduling physical and immunization appointments.

For the 2022-2023 school year, all students must be up-to-date with physical examination and immunization requirements. All completed forms must be turned into your child's school by September 12, 2022. Students who have not submitted their required health documents by September 12, 2022 may be excluded from school until all documentation has been received by District 100.

When do I need to show proof my child is up-to-date on immunizations?

Students are required to present appropriate proof of a health examination and the immunizations against, and screenings for, preventable communicable diseases within one year prior to August, 24, 2022 if they are:

  • Entering kindergarten

  • Entering 6th or 9th grades; or

  • Enrolling in an Illinois school for the first time, regardless of the student's grade

What's Required?

  • Proof of immunization against meningococcal disease is required for students in grades 6 and 12.

  • All students entering twelfth grade must show proof of receiving one dose of Meningococcal vaccine after the age of 16.

  • All students entering grades six through twelve must show proof of receiving one dose of the Tdap vaccine.

  • A diabetes screening must be included as part of the health exam (though diabetes testing is not required).

  • Students between the age of one and seven must provide a statement from a physician assuring that the student was “risk-assessed” or screened for lead poisoning.

  • Beginning with the 2017-2018 school year, an age-appropriate developmental screening and an age-appropriate social and emotional screening are required parts of each health examination.

Eye Examination

All students entering kindergarten or the school for the first time must present proof by October 15th of the current school year of an eye examination performed within one year.

Dental Examination

All students entering kindergarten, second, sixth and ninth grades must present proof by May 15th of the current school year of having been examined by a licensed dentist within the last 18 months.

What if my child needs some prescription or non-prescription medication?

Medications may be given to a child at school in an emergency or if it is required in order for the child to remain in daily attendance for comfort or as a necessity. It is expected that in most instances medication will be given at home and not in school. Our school medication policy follows the recommended guidelines of the Illinois Department of Public Health and the Illinois State Board of Education. Students requiring medications in school are required to have this medication consent form completed and turned in to their school nurse.

Head Lice

In accordance with recommendations from the The American Academy of Pediatrics, the National Association of School Nurses and the CDC, students with head lice are not excluded from school. A student with an active head lice infestation likely has had the infestation for a month or more and by the time it is discovered and poses little risk to others from the infestation. Parents should contact their school nurse for a recommended treatment plan.

More detailed medical information is provided in the Student Handbook.

Nurse Contacts

School Health Coordinator

Evelyn Corral
ecorral@district100.com
815-547-7955

Belvidere High School

Reyna Rocha
rrocha@district100.com
815-547-4617
815-544-8661 Fax

Belvidere North High School

Phyllis Dake
pdake@district100.com
815-547-3514
815-547-2916 Fax

Belvidere Central Middle School

Kristy Ward
kward@district100.com
815-547-4377
815-544-1128 Fax

Belvidere South Middle School

Kris Carpenter
kcarpenter@district100.com
815-547-4197
815-544-2781 Fax

Caledonia Elementary School

Sara Conklin
sconklin@district100.com
815-547-4359
815-547-3566 Fax

Lincoln Elementary School

Kim Jokhy
kjokhy@district100.com
815-547-3769
815-547-4222 Fax

Meehan Elementary School

Jody Brown
jbrown2@district100.com
815-547-7267
815-547-3946 Fax

Perry Elementary School

Mary Stoltz
mstoltz@district100.com
815-547-2187
815-544-1459 Fax

Seth Whitman Elementary School

Colleen Zoellick
czoellick@district100.com
815-547-3022
815-547-7258 Fax

Washington Academy

Patricia Evans
pevans@district100.com
815-547-4210
815-544-4182 Fax